Ecolab awards thousands to staff for creative teaching

Garland-based manufacturer Ecolab has supported Garland ISD for decades. The organization partnered with the Garland ISD Education Foundation (GEF) 31 years ago, providing more than 530 grants to champion innovative teaching and learning. Surpassing the $1 million mark this year, Ecolab continued its long-standing tradition by awarding $50,986 to district teachers at a reception Sept. 13.

“A 31-year partnership is remarkable and rare,” said GEF President Lisa Cox. “We are so appreciative of Ecolab’s support. Without strong community partners like them, we would not be able to sponsor our educators and impact classrooms districtwide.”

This year’s grant winners will enhance education through a range of mediums, including movie-based lessons, IV injection arm models and yoga.

A list of 2017 Ecolab grant honorees is below.

Carver Elementary School
Jennifer Smith

Cooper Elementary School
Melinda Betty

Kathy Holman

Laura Olavarriet

Statia Paschel

Donna Zuniga

Dorsey Elementary School

Caitlin Boswell 

Giddens-Steadham Elementary School

Joanne Brennen

Hudson Middle School

Gye Kraemer

Keeley Elementary School

Paula Corbett

Lakeview Centennial High School

Caroline Allen

John Ballinger

Michael Barry

Wilgus Burton

Chris Cuadra

William Ellis

Heather Hillebrenner

Wendy Jackson

James Jolivette

Jessica Lenihan

Jodie Like

Kelvin Perry

Adrienne Scott

Liberty Grove Elementary School

Fabiola Torres

Luna Elementary School

Karen Wright

Northlake Elementary School

John Beltz

Roach Elementary School

Teresa Fontenette

Rowlett High School

Martine Brown

Sachse High School

LaDonna Spencer