In this section

MS Choir: Preparing for Fall 2020

A choir performingA welcome message from your choir directors:

Let us be the first to say "hello" and welcome you to middle school! Your Choir directors are excited to meet our newest students and parents. We know that going into 6th grade can often be challenging, but each of your directors are here to help you and your child make the transition with greater ease and confidence.

Below you will find all you need to know about entering middle school choir in Garland ISD while we are socially distancing. Even if your child isn't signed up for choir, there is a place waiting for him or her in one of our Choir programs!

 Please contact us with any questions you have. We always love to hear from our families.

Want to know more about our programs? See the Choir section on our music page.

Why choose Choir?

Friendships and community

A group of choir students spending time togetherBy singing together with like-minded peers, your child will be part of a supportive community that can ease your child's transition to middle school, all while building lasting friendships that often continue into high school and beyond.

 

Performances, contests and lifetime memories

A choir winning an awardMiddle school choir students work towards exciting goals as a team, including live stage performances, field trips and formal choral contests. Students will have opportunities to receive trophies, awards and recognition. These fun and dynamic experiences place student artistry and success in the spotlight, which provides for special memories and further supports your child's sense of self-esteem.

Scholarships and academic success

A choir group visiting BaylorStudents in choir are in a special position to develop and expand both their artistic and academic potential. Many choir students, even those who do not major in music, benefit from scholarship opportunities in college. Nationally, more scholarship money is given to musicians than any other category.

Students in choir tend to show strength in academic subjects as well. Studies show that SAT test scores of choir students are consistently higher than students who are not engaged in music-making.

A graph showing that students who studied music/arts for four years score 10–12% higher than students who studied one-half year or less.

Graph: Students of the arts continue to outperform their non-arts peers on the SAT, according to reports by the College Entrance Examination Board. 

See the HTML version of this graph.

Meet your instructors

Your instructors are ready to serve you and your family! Below you'll find the contact information for your school. Do not hesitate to contact your directors with questions, or to begin the sign-up process for next year.

Austin Academy

A picture of Jonathan CoffieldMr. Jonathan Coffield
jncoffie@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-502-3288

Instagram: @aaechoir

Classical Center of Brandenburg

A picture of Breanne Brown and Courtney WilsonMrs. Breanne Brown, Director of Choirs
bbrown@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-600-1052

Ms. Courtney Wilson, Assistant Choir Director
cywilson@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-600-0253

Brandenburg Choir campus webpage

Twitter: @CCBMS_CHOIR

Bussey Middle School

A picture of Fidel LozanoMr. Fidel E. Lozano
Felozano@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-420-2476

Twitter: @busseychoir

Coyle Middle School

A photo of Natalie HIler and Pam AbasoloMrs. Natalie Hiler
Nhiler@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-502-3114

Mrs. Pam Abasolo
Psabasol@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-600-0751

Facebook: CoyleMSChoirs 
Instagram: @CoyleChoirs
Twitter: @NatalieHiler

Hudson Middle School

A photo of Kelly Flores and Sarah SiburtMrs. Kelly Flores
KAFlores@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-502-4384

Mrs. Sarah Siburt
SESiburt@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-502-0508

Twitter: @choirhudson

Jackson Middle School

A picture of Alyssa BurscoughMs. Alyssa Burscough
aburscough@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-600-0468

Twitter: @JTCChoir

Lyles Middle School

A picture of Priscilla Lopez and her students on a busMrs. Priscilla Lopez
plopezgamez@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-502-0263

 

O'Banion Middle School

A picture of Mariah GutierrezMs. Mariah Gutierrez
MHGutier@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-502-3033

Instagram: @omschoir1

Sam Houston Middle School

A picture of Thomas Smith and his childMr. Thomas Smith
Tsmith2@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 214-702-3738

Instagram: @shmscoltchoir

Schrade Middle School

A photo of Mary Anne Clark and Kylie GrayMrs. Mary Anne Clark
mtclark@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-502-0546

Ms. Kylie Gray
kkgray@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-502-3256

Sellers Middle School

A photo of Matthew OchsMr. Matthew Ochs
mjochs@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-502-4386

Webb Middle School

A photo of Michael Kenney and Kat MangumMs. Kat Mangum
kmangum@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-502-4435

Mr. Michael Kenney
mkenney@garlandisd.net
Google Voice: 903-502-0493

Twitter: @WebbMSChoir

A collage of choir students performing

A picture of a choir in performance attire

A collage of choir students posing