Main Content

Multi-Ethnic Committee

Committee Type: 
District Level Opportunities
Committee Category: 
Community Relations
Committee Purpose: 

As part of an agreed legal judgment in 1987, the Multi-ethnic Committee meets to discuss topics covered in a Federal Court order related to educational issues and discrimination.

Desegregation order

Frequency of Meetings: 

Committee members vote, set the schedule for meetings and meet five times per year at 6:30 p.m. 


Meeting Topic

Meeting DateLocationMeeting Topic
September 16, 2019Harris Hill Administration Building AnnexReview Multi-Ethnic Compliance
October 28, 2019Harris Hill Administration Building AnnexTransportation/Freedom of Choice
January 13, 2020CANCELED 
February 3, 2020Manuel & Maria Valle Student Services CenterHuman Resources Report
April 6, 2020CANCELED 
May 4, 2020Manuel & Maria Valle Student Services Center
Discipline/Long Range Facilities Master Plan/Kinkeade Report Questions
Committee Makeup: 

Membership is decided by the Federal Court’s Northern Judicial District of Texas, based on recommendations submitted by Garland ISD and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.

The committee shall consist of five Anglo members, three Black members, three Hispanic members, and one Asian member.  The committee shall also have three student ex officio members (non-voting), consisting of one Black student, one White student, and one Hispanic or Asian student.

Available Committee Seats

There are open seats available for two more White members and two more Hispanic members.

If you are interested in being considered for the Multi-Ethnic Committee, please email your resume for consideration to Lakisha Culpepper, African-American Community Liaison for Garland ISD. Lakisha Culpepper will initiate the approval process and submit resumes to the NAACP Garland Unit #6256 for further consideration.

Committee Members: 

Dr. Joyce Miller, MEC Chairman
Mrs. Barbara Daniels, MEC Vice-Chairman
Mr. Timothy Robinson, MEC Secretary
Mr. Julian Olalde
Mr. Mel Pershan
Mr. Howard Pierson
Ms. Angela Reed

Ex-Officio Student Members

Bailey Balderson
Kaitlyn Dacpano
Kayla Smith


Dr. Babetta Hemphill
Executive Director of Student Services

Mr. John Washington
MEC Committee and Equity Advisor

Lakisha Culpepper
African-American Community Liaison

Report & Findings