Two GISD campuses boast newly published authors

Thirteen Garland ISD students are among the area’s newest authors. These budding bestsellers from Kimberlin and Austin Academies for Excellence won the 2020 I Write Short Stories by Kids for Kids contest.

Every year, students across the globe enter their short stories, poems and illustrations for consideration. Just 100 were chosen for publication in the 11th volume of the I Write Short Stories by Kids for Kids anthology.

GISD’s winners will be recognized at a Virtual Book Signing Brunch this month with a special guest appearance from Academy Award-winning actor Matthew McConaughey. The event will celebrate the diversity of published students from all parts of the world while raising awareness about iWRITE’s mission to build student confidence through writing.

“This year’s literary theme, Outer Space, reminds kids to dream, even in uncertain times,” said Melissa Williams Murphy, children’s author and founder of iWRITE. “We’re thrilled to have Matthew McConaughey join and believe that his role as a published author and actor who actually played an astronaut in a film, will truly empower our students and encourage them to reach for the stars.”

Throughout 11 years, the I Write Short Stories by Kids for Kids contest has published 730 student authors from 11 different countries. And, several of those literary rockstars can be credited to GISD. The district has participated for many years, with some students boasting at least six consecutive wins.

Congratulations to this year’s honorees:

Kimberlin Academy for Excellence

  • Rhyslan Benson
  • Emory Brewer 

Austin Academy for Excellence

  • Mia Andrea
  • Colten Benson
  • Finnley Benson
  • Wm. Patrick Cook
  • Clara Davies
  • Colton Dunbarger
  • Meghan George
  • Chloe Grammer
  • Jasmine John
  • Zora McCall
  • Sierra Thompson